View All Scores


National Collegiate Roller Hockey Association

4th Annual Skills Competition Highlights All-Star Weekend

ECRHA  February 10th, 2018 at 8:30AM  February 10th, 2018 3:27PM

Old Bethpage, NY - I just under a week, the entire ECRHA will meet up in Long Island for a monster of an All-Star Event. It's traditional to end the regular season with every team in attendance as teams make one final push to qualify for the ECRHA Championships. During this event, the league honors those players who had remarkable season by hosting its All-Star Games.

Rosters for All-Star Games will be release tomorrow at 12pm ET.

In addition to the annual All-Star games, the league will be hosting its 4th Skills competition. The skills competition will take place between the Division 1/2 and Division 3/4 All-Star Games. The competition is usually the highlight of festivities. All players who are selected to the All-Star game or participate in the Skill Competition will be treated to a catered banquet before, during and after the games.

There are three events that make up the skills competition and they are open to any player in the league, you don't have to per-register or be selected an All-Star to compete.

Fastest Skater: The fastest skater competition kicks off the skill competition. In the first round of the competition, all skaters will complete one lap of the rink in a heads up race against another skater. Players are racing against the clock, not each other during this round. The top 8 skaters will advance to the second round, determined by the fastest overall time. Skaters will be seeded and face each other in a single elimination race, with the winner advancing to the next round. The winners will be reseeded in the semi-finals, based off times in the quarterfinals. The final will be a heads up race between the two fastest skaters left in the field for the Fastest Skater Crown.

Division 1 players have dominated the competition, winning all of the previous three races. Eric Spencer of Rowan University won the first fastest skater competition in 2015. Slippery Rock's Christian Scott, who now coaches at Slippery Rock and Shane Fox of Neumann won in 2016 and 2017. Shane Fox holds the ECRHA record, turning in a lap time of 13.71 during the 2017 competition.

Breakaway Competition: The breakaway competition is usually the highlight of the event, with the format determined by the numbers of players who participate. There have been some exciting moments during this competition, with players either going for the win or trying some truly out of this word tricks to find the back of the net.

Kevin Rafferty of Delaware won the first breakaway competition in 2015 when he went head to head with 2016 winner Matt Engle of St. Joseph's in an epic duel before finally coming out on top. Last years competition was won by Dan Trunk of Robert Morris, who won't be able to defend his title this season as he sits out with a knee injury that has sidelined him all season.

Goaltender Competition: Taking place simultaneously as the Breakaway Competition, goalies will compete to make the most saves during the competition. About midway through the competition, the goalie field gets cut down and a trio of goalies fight for title. John Whitman of West Chester won last season and could potentially defend his crown, the only player able to do so. No goalie or skater has ever won the competition twice, can Whitman become the first? 

Mark Flitsch of Boston University and James Halko of Drexel won in 2015 and 2016.


League News

Sponsors and Supporters